Reviews

7.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.1
Comfort
7.2
Property location
7.3
Facilities
7.0
Staff
8.2
Value
7.0

Reviews

    Alex
    de

    Review score

    7.9
    9 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nicusor
    gb

    Review score

    2.5
    30 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    John
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    8 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Osama
    ae

    Review score

    7.9
    9 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Joanna
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    3 October 2017
    We paid for breakfast which was fine but quite basics, I didn’t like that you had to pay if you wanted more than one coffee!
    Hotel is in a good location
    Clare
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    11 September 2017

    Sweet family run hotel, short walk from the center of town. Very pleasant stay.

    You have to pay 6 euros a day for parking and this wasn't communicated very well. However I think this is normal for the area.
    Short walk into town- down cobbled streets but extremely easy to navigate. Good selection at breakfast. Super friendly staff. Clean and comfy room - basic but all you needed for a base. Lovely pool area and mountain views.
    Rahul
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    7 September 2017

    Excellent hotel

    The staff is extremely helpful. We arrived late and the restaurant worker still managed to get us some sandwiches even though she was about to late. We had a lot of luggage and no car. Roger, who manages the property, dropped us to the ferry point on our last day. The breakfast served is pretty good and you can enjoy swimming pool 24hrs.
    Beáta
    hu

    Review score

    7.1
    2 September 2017

    Good

    The breakfast was poor. The swimming pool water was shockingly cold.
    We had a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding mountains from the balcony of our apartment. The room was spacious and the bathroom was modern.
    Lee
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    30 August 2017

    Friendly hotel in beautiful lake Como

    We had a great stay at Hotel Sonenga. Staff were very friendly and attentive (communication via email beforehand was good), room cleaned daily to a high standard, pool was quiet and clean, breakfast was good and we had a brilliant view from our large balcony over the lake and mountains.
    Gemma
    ch

    Review score

    10
    25 August 2017

    A very relaxed place to stay, would definitely recommend.

    A lovely hotel on the hill above Menaggio (just a short walk). Quiet location. Great views. Lovely, quiet pool. Very friendly staff and extremely family friendly.
    Lindsay
    hu

    Review score

    9.2
    24 August 2017

    comfy bed, nice pool, lovely mountain view

    The only drawback to the location is the hike up from town and the fact that there aren't any cafes or restaurants nearby so anytime you want to eat, you have to go all the way down the hill to town. Not convenient when spending the day at the pool. Also, no fridge in the room.
    VERY comfortable bed, especially for Italy. The pool was great to have in the hot summer month of July. Nice selection of breakfast food. The balcony off the bedroom was nice to have.
    sonya
    gb

    Review score

    10
    24 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Hans
    nl

    Review score

    3.8
    7 August 2017
    Owner was very unfriendly: kept on telling us that he has to work so hard etc etc. We did not feel welcome and even considered leaving.
    rooms were clean
    Karen
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    3 August 2017

    Simple but clean accommodation, with a good location and friendly service.

    Rooms would benefit from air conditioning or at the very least a ceiling fan!
    Manager was very hrlpful both in the lead up to our holiday and while there. Room although simple was clean and comfortable. Nice clean pool.
    Lars
    ch

    Review score

    9.2
    1 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Agnes
    hu

    Review score

    7.1
    30 July 2017
    Bad wi-fi, no fridge, cleaning lady throwing out things she shouldn't have.
    Huge rooms, terrace, pool.
    Per
    dk

    Review score

    7.5
    29 July 2017

    Quiet nights and pleasant days with poollife.

    Very limited lunch and dinner possibilities at the hotel and a Fridge to keep the water etc. cooled would have been nice.
    Small hotel with the charms of that. The owner participating in the routines with his share of confusion and italian touch.
    David
    no

    Review score

    7.1
    26 July 2017
    Had to pay extra for parking. A bit run down, e.g. quite a few loose tiles on balcony. Bed a bit on the hard side.
    Room 306 has a great view. Spacious room. Quick access by car to main road but its all quiet as the main road is in a tunnel.
    se

    Review score

    7.1
    12 July 2017
    Unstable internet, to short bed, very difficult to cool down the rooms when sleeping, no fridge to keep drinks cool.
    The view of you select room with view, also good size
    Drew
    gb

    Review score

    5.8
    11 July 2017

    Quiet family run hotel with great views, but not easily accessible and not very flexible

    Our flight was delayed and we didn't arrive at the hotel until the early hours of the morning. This hotel has a very specific and short check in period (2pm - 7pm each day), which we missed on the booking. This was our fault and I understand the hoteliers frustration. However the owner kept calling us shouting at us which was not a nice start to the holiday and was unprofessional. We were already stressed out, with the delayed flight and having to drive 2 hours from the airport at night, our first time driving in a foreign country . Being called over and over again to be shouted at was not appreciated. When we arrived, the travel cot we ordered was not in the room, which meant that we had to put the baby to sleep in bed with us on the first night which could be dangerous. The hotelier left our rooms open and we had to wake him up when we arrived so at least we managed to get to sleep the first night. Our room was also not ready though, meaning we were in a mountain view room the first night and then had to move rooms the second day. After the initial awful start, things calmed down and we did enjoy our stay. The hotelier was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the next room we received was lovely and spacious. There are some things about this hotel you need to know though: 1. If you have a baby I would not recommend staying here as it is up some very steep hills from the lake front. There is a bus you can catch but walking down to the lake is very difficult with a pram as there are many steps and rocky paths. Anyone with disabilities, impediments etc would not be able to walk to this hotel and would be reliant on taxis (at 10 euros per trip). 2. There is no air conditioning or even fans in the rooms. While we were there it was 37 degrees and the rooms were stifling. A fan would have made a big difference. 3. The bar is closed from 12-2pm every day which is a pain if you are around the pool. It also closes each night at 8pm.
    The view from our lake view room was amazing. The staff at breakfast and the pool bar were very friendly and helpful. The cleaner was great and the room was cleaned every day to a very high standard. The pool was quite cold but was a welcome break from the heat of the day. After a bad start the staff were very helpful. They provided us with ice and yoghurts for the baby and helped us resolve other problems.
Loading reviews